Academic Senate Grossmont College

Monday, March 18, 2013 11:00am – 12:20pm in <u>Griffin Gate</u>

I. CALL TO ORDER

- A. Public Comment Each speaker will be given a maximum of 4 minutes to address the senate about a non-agendized item or items, with a maximum of 15 minutes allowed for public comment. The senate may vote to extend public comment at any meeting. Please contact the senate secretary before the meeting when wishing to speak at public comment. The senate welcomes all speakers to participate in the discussion on agendized items.
- B. Approval of Agenda
- C. Approval of Minutes from March 4, 2013 postponed to next meeting

II. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

45 minutes

Announcements and updates from College and District meetings and about work in progress at the College, District & State

III. COMMITTEES

A. Approval of new Committee members

5 Minutes

- -Academic Program Review: Ticey Hosely (Counseling)
 -Faculty Staffing Committee: Debbie Lim (Counseling)
- IV. ACTION ITEMS

None

V. INFORMATION ITEMS*

30 minutes

- A. Approval of recommendations of the Rank Committee (See attachment A)
- B. Accreditation Self-Evaluation Report Chris Hill

{ Section 5. Quorum

"A simple majority of Senators including Senator designees recognized by the Chair at the openings of meetings shall constitute a quorum. Senator positions not filled by departments will not be included in quorum determination." Average number of senators attending the first three Senate meetings, Fall, 2011: 54}

^{*}The Academic Senate may move information items to action upon a 2/3 vote.

ATTACHMENT A (Information Item A)

Upon review of the applications, the Grossmont College Academic Rank Committee recommends to the Academic Senate, a vote in favor of the following Grossmont College Faculty to receive their respective ranks effective Fall Semester 2013:

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

Barbara Gillespie Lisa Maloy Angela Ngo Diana Vance

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

Brian Keliher Michele Perchez Karl J. Sherlock Denise Shulmeyer

PROFESSOR

Lisa Ledri-Aguilar Nadra Farina-Hess

Upon review of the applications, the Grossmont College Academic Rank Committee recommends the following retired Grossmont College Faculty to the Governing Board for their consideration toward Emeritus Status:

Patricia Bennett
Sheridan DeWolf
Michael Grant
Mary Rider
Donald Ridgeway
Hoke Simpson
Curtis Stevens
Edda Temoche-Weldele

Grossmont College Academic Rank Committee

Evan C. Wirig-Chair

Committee Members: Jorge DeSaracho, Lisa Ledi-Aguilar, Linda Snider, Diana Vance

March 6, 2013