

College and Community Relations 619-644-7840 619-644-7090 (Fax) News Release www.grossmont.edu

## For Immediate Release:

May 26, 2004

Contact: Susan A. Herney, Manager, College and Community Relations 619-644-7840 <a href="mailto:susan.herney@gcccd.net">susan.herney@gcccd.net</a>

## AWARDS RECOGNIZE EXCELLENCE, LEADERSHIP AND INNOVATION BY GROSSMONT COLLEGE FACULTY AND STAFF

**El Cajon** – More than 125 members of the Grossmont College faculty and staff were honored by their colleagues at the fifth annual College Recognition Ceremony held on the college campus May 20. Among the eagerly-anticipated announcements included naming the Innovator of the Year, Instructor Tom Gamboa; and the presentation of the President's Leadership Award to English Instructor Cathy Harvey. Associate Dean Kats Gustafson received the Grossmont College Foundation's "Commitment to Service" award.

According to Grossmont College President, Dr. Ted Martinez, Jr., "Learning just does not take place in a vacuum. Here at Grossmont College we are blessed to have so many talented and dedicated faculty and staff who contribute so much to student success. The employees we honor at this event are especially committed to our mission." The annual event is an opportunity for Grossmont College to showcase those receiving special commendation, as well as those achieving career milestones.

The event included a special tribute to the memory of instructor Barbara Chernofsky by Martinez and Mike Matherly, chair of the staff development committee. Chernofsky, who lost a courageous battle with cancer in 2003, was a long-time advocate for staff development and the annual awards recognition ceremony.

Distinguished Faculty Awards, a project of the college's Academic Senate, were presented to Melvin Amov, history instructor, and Laura Burger, professor of exercise science and health education. Amov and Burger have been honored throughout the 2003-2004 academic year and will receive final recognition in their capacity as Distinguished Faculty at the 42<sup>nd</sup> Annual Commencement June 3.

Recommendation for Academic Rank is made by the Academic Senate, which confers the title of Professor, Associate Professor or Assistant Professor yearly intervals. Those receiving rank of professor include: Diane A. Merlos, Ph. D. – Biology; Evan Wirig - Media Communications; John Maley – Chemistry; Craig Milgrim – Biology; Nelson Paler – English; Steve Baker – Music; Marion de Koning – Art; Gary Phillips – English. The rank of associate professor was bestowed on James Papageorge - Media Communications; and Sylvia Montejano – Counselor. Joel Castellaw – Communications, was named Assistant Professor.

Each academic and student services department had the opportunity to submit nominations for Outstanding Full-Time and Part-Time faculty. Those selected for the annual Division awards include: Business and Professional Studies Mary Courtney, Full-time – Child Development; John Hildebrand and Marcy Diehl, Adjunct – Business.

Communication and Fine Arts - Full-Time: Henry Jordan – Professor of Theatre Arts, and Roxanne Tuscany – Professor of Communication; Adjunct: Jerry Hager – Theater, and Marion Rodewald – Music.

Humanities, Social and Behavioral Sciences - Full-Time: Joseph Braunwarth, Ph.D. – Political Science, Jennifer Carmean – American Sign Language, and Susan Gonda, Ph.D. – History. Adjunct: Penelope Borax – English as a Second Language, and Simone Laubenthal – American Sign Language.

Learning and Technology Resource Center, Counseling, EOPS, and DSPS – Full-Time: Mary M. Rider – Counseling, and Mary B. Rose – Counseling. Adjunct: Beverly Wight – Counseling.

Math, Natural Sciences, Exercise Science and Wellness - Full-Time: Timothy W. Cliffe – Geography; Adjunct: Martin Larter – Chemistry.

Outstanding Classified Staff Awards are presented by the Chancellor's Office and the Classified Senate. Recipients include: Janet Althaus – Bookstore,

Maria Baeza – LTRC: Word Processing, David Dueñas – Physical Science, Physics and Astronomy, Marilyn Marshall – Humanities and Social / Behavioral Sciences,

Kathryn Thom – Student Activities, and Joyce Phillips – Instructional and Technology Resources / English Writing Center.

Classified Leadership Institute (4CS) Employee of the Year awards were presented to Rosalind Scott – Printing Operations Supervisor, and to Kurt Brauer- Custodial Supervisor.

Employees reaching career milestones were also honored. Faculty receiving tenure include: Kamala Balasubramanian – English , Sydney Brown – English James Canady – Counseling; Jorge DeSaracho – Counseling; Virginia Dudley – Biology; Leon Ennis – History; Sandra Freeman – Nursing; Ryan Griffith – English; Sheri Guseman – Communication; Nancy Herzfeld-Pipkin – English as a Second Language; Deborah Lim, Ph.D. – Counseling; John Oakes, Ph.D. – Chemistry; Irene Palacios – Mathematics; Shirley Pereira – Mathematics; Qais Sako, Ph.D. – English; Shahrokh Shahrokhi, Ph.D. – Economics.

Nineteen administrators, faculty and staff are retiring during the current year. They

represent a combined 463 years of service to Grossmont College, an average of nearly 24 years each. They include: Tomas U. Foster, Ph.D. – Associate Dean, Learning Resources, 28 years; Gerald R. Baydo, Ph.D. – History, 33 years; Eugene L. Britt – Professor of Management, International Business, 28 years; Gay A. Cox – Exercise Science, 41 years; Michael A. Evans – Professor or English, 34 years; Nelson Paler – English, 14 years; Jeanne Raimond – Nursing, 14 years; Mary B. Rose – Counseling, 17 years; Ronald E. Tatro – Professor of Art, 36 years; David W. Wing – Professor of Photography, 30 years; Bradley Wood – Humanities, 32 years.

Classified staff retirees include: Carole Brown – Child Development Center, 16 years; Adrienne Chevalier-Adams – Counseling, 36 years; Judy DeLong – Counseling, 14 years; David Luther – Operations, 25 years; Judith Nagel – Child Development Center, 14 years; Maria Seltzer – Bookstore, 27 years; Gail Standring – Admissions and Records, 19 years; Irene Zens – Financial Aid, 17 years.

Football Coach Dave Jordan was honored for the professional recognition bestowed on him this year as a San Diego Press Club Headliner, as the Meritorious Coach of the Year, National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, and as the California State Community College Football Coach of the Year.

Howard Kummerman, executive director of the Grossmont College Foundation, recognized contributors to the Foundation's Faculty/Staff giving campaign.

The event concluded with recognition of the 47 employess selected for KUDOS, 'on-thespot' rewards for superior teamwork and service. KUDOS recipients are nominated by faculty, staff, or students and the awards take the form of KUDOS candy bars, certificates and ribbons. Awards are delivered to each recipient's work station by Dr. Ted Martinez, Jr., the college president and by Pat Murray, vice-president of the Classified Senate, and Marilyn Marshall, KUDOS committee.