Cap 6 Members To Mortar Board

VERMILLION, May 4 — Formal initiation ceremonies will be held Sunday morning at the State University for six members of the junior class who were capped to Mortar Board, senior women's honorary service organization, at the climax of the annual senior Swingout Wednesday evening.

Those capped are: Marilyn Hansen, Pierre, president; Lorraine Blanchard, Miller; Sally. Long, Redfield; Donna Marie Hodges, Erwin; Donna Lou Schmidt, Brandon; and Grace Steinberg, Onawa, Ia.

These women were selected on the basis of scholarship, leadership and character. They were capped by active Mortar Board members of the senior class: Barbara Wangsness, Garretson, president; Marlys Forstrom, Beresford; Maxine Edwards, Watertown; and Patricia Pearson, Webster.

First place in the group singing events was awarded to the Kappa Alpha Theta sorority which sang "Theta Lips" under the direction of Jane Buntley, Sioux City, Ia. Second place was won by Dakota Hall, "Indian Love Call," directed by Rosemary Mann, Madison; and third place was awarded to East Hall, "When Day is Done," directed by Mary Vickery, Ida Grove, Ia.

The second annual Mortar Board award of \$5 was presented to Elaine Hansen, Canton, the freshman woman who maintained the highest scholastic average in her class for the first semester and one-half of the current school year. Her average was announced as 94.83. The first annual award was won last year by Betty Flynn, Kimball. now a sophomore at the University.