Skip to contentSkip to Main Site NavigationSkip to Site Left NavigationSkip to Site Utility NavigationSkip to Site SearchSkip to FooterDownload Adobe Reader
Pages within Accreditation Steering Committee


Catherine Webb
Accreditation Liaison Officer
Phone: 619-644-7462


Accreditation Steering Committee

The Accreditation Steering Committee is tasked with preparing the Institutional Self-Evaluation Report (ISER) in advance of the ACCJC site visit and eternal review, as well as maintain and fostering a culture of continual improvement and accountability across campus at all times. 


The Accreditation Steering Committee is a subcommittee of Planning and Resources Council. Its primary responsibilities are to
• Communicate information about accreditation standards and best practices throughout the college;
• Foster college-wide dialogue on how the college meets or does not meet accreditation standards;
• Serve as a conduit for constituency input into accreditation reports and responses;
• Create and monitor plans and timelines for the preparation of all accreditation reports and responses required by ACCJC;
• Provide leadership in the preparation of reports;
• Develop and monitor plans and timelines for the remediation of areas in which the college does not fully meet accreditation standards;
• Monitor the college’s continued compliance and improvement throughout the six-year accreditation cycle.


Committee Membership

Chair: Dr. Catherine Webb, Accreditation Liaison Officer
Faculty Co-Chair: Denise Schulmeyer, Communication Departmentment
  • Accreditation Liaison Officer (Co-chair)
  • Faculty Accreditation Chair (Co-chair)
  • College President (ex officio member)
  • Vice President of Academic Affairs
  • Vice President of Student Services
  • Vice President of Administrative Services
  • Academic Senate President
  • Classified Senate President
  • Distance Education Specialist
  • CPIE Administrative Assistant
  • Research Liaison
  • Process Specialist
  • Student

Additional Members (During ISER Development)

Standard I: Mission, Academic Quality and Institutional Effectiveness, and Integrity

  • Classified chair:  Cindy Emerson
  • Faculty chair:  Bonnie Ripley
  • Administrative chair:  Michael Reese
  • I.A. Mission (4 third-level standards) lead:  Denise Schulmeyer
  • I.B. Assuring Academic Quality and Institutional Effectiveness (9) lead:  Cary Willard
  • I.C. Institutional Integrity (14) lead:  Lida Rafia

Standard II: Student Learning Programs and Services

  • Classified chair:  Jocelyn Pacheco
  • Faculty chair:  Joan Ahrens
  • Administrative chair:  Wayne Branker
  • II.A. Instructional Programs (16) lead:  Jeff Waller
  • II.B. Library and Learning Support Services (4) lead:  Matt Calfin
  • II.C. Student Support Services (8) lead:  Courtney Williams

Standard III: Resources

  • Classified chair:  Bernadette Black
  • Faculty chair:  Liz Barrow
  • Administrative chair:  Agustin Albarran
  • III.A. Human Resources (15) lead:  Sara Varghese
  • III.B. Physical Resources (4) lead:  Loren Holmquist
  • III.C. Technology Resources (5) lead:  Sang Bai
  • III.D. Financial Resources (16) lead:  Patty Sparks

Standard IV: Leadership and Governance

  • Classified chair:  Monica Blando
  • Faculty chair:  Tate Hurvitz
  • Administrative chair:  Marsha Gable
  • IV.A. Decision-Making Roles and Processes (7) lead:  Barbara Gallego
  • IV.B. Chief Executive Officer (6) lead:  Aaron Starck
  • IV.C. Governing Board (13) lead:  Lorena Ruggero
  • IV.D. Multi-College Districts or Systems (7) lead:  Dee Oliveri

Meeting Information

Spring 2019

Fall 2018

Summer 2018

The committee met on an ad hoc basis alternating Tuesdays and Wednesdays during the summer to work on writing standards and compiling evidence.

Spring 2018

February meeting: Agenda, Minutes

March meeting: Agenda, Minutes

April meeting: Agenda, Minutes

May meeting: Agenda, Minutes


 Contact Information: Cindy Emerson, College Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Office, 619-668-1729

Last Updated: 08/19/2019


Catherine Webb
Accreditation Liaison Officer
Phone: 619-644-7462

  • Grossmont
  • Cuyamaca
A Member of the Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District